Mathematics and Statistics

Department Head


D. Richard Cutler
D. Richard Cutler, Ph.D.
Department Head, Professor
Animal Science 110
Tel: 435.797.0244, Richard.Cutler@usu.edu
Fax: 435.797.1822
Environmental & Ecological Statistics, Experimental Design

Associate Department Head


Christopher Corcoran
Christopher Corcoran, Ph.D.
Associate Dept. Head, Professor
Animal Science 109
435.797.4012, Fax: 435.797.1822, Chris.Corcoran@usu.edu
Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Statistical Genetics, Categorical Data, Permutation Methods
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/corcoran/

Faculty


Ian M. Anderson
Ian M. Anderson, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 302
435.797.2822, Fax: 435.797.1822, Ian.Anderson@usu.edu
Differential geometry, Global analysis
Website: http://works.bepress.com/ian_anderson/

David Bregenzer
David Bregenzer, M.S.
Principal Lecturer
Animal Science 311
435.797.2420, Fax: 435.797.1822, Dave.Bregenzer@usu.edu

David Brown
David Brown, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Animal Science 202
435.797.3224, Fax: 435.797.1822, David.E.Brown@usu.edu
Discrete mathematics, Graph theory

Cathy Callow-Heusser
Catherine Callow-Heusser, Ph.D
Lecturer
Animal Science 203
435.797.2036, Fax: 435.797.1822
catherine.callow-heusser@usu.edu
Director, Developmental Mathematics

James S. Cangelosi
James S. Cangelosi, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 324C
435.797.1415, Fax: 435.797.1822, Jim.Cangelosi@usu.edu
Constructivism in math education, Psychometrics, Behavior management
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/jcang

Larry Cannon
Larry Cannon, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 305
435.797.2829, Fax: 435.797.1822, Larry.Cannon@usu.edu
Topology, Algebra

Daniel C. Coster
Daniel C. Coster, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 219
435.797-2815, Fax: 435.797.1822, Dan.Coster@usu.edu
Optimal design, Computational statistics

Michael Cortez
Michael Cortez, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Animal Science 216
435.797.7695, Fax: 435.797.1822, Michael.Cortez@usu.edu
Mathematical Biology, Ecology, and Evolution
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/cortez

Adele Cutler
Adele Cutler, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 308
435.797.2761, Fax: 435.797.1822, Adele.Cutler@usu.edu
Statistics, Statistical computing
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/adele

Mark Fels
Mark Fels, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 303
435.797.0774, Fax: 435.797.1822, Mark.Fels@usu.edu
Differential geometry, Differential equations
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/fels

Guifang Fu
Guifang Fu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Animal Science 304
435.797.0749, Fax: 435.797.1822, Guifang.Fu@usu.edu
Biostatistics, Statistical Genetics, Statistical Shape Analysis, Longitudinal Data Analysis, Functional Data Analysis, Differential Equation, Dynamic System Modeling
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/guifang

Nathan Geer
Nathan Geer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Animal Science 316
435.797.0755, Fax: 435.797.1822, Nathan.Geer@usu.edu
Low dimensional topology, Lie theory
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/geer

Luis Gordillo
Luis Gordillo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Animal Science 215
435.797.0245, Fax: 435.797.1822, Luis.Gordillo@usu.edu
Mathematical Biology

Robert Heal
Robert Heal, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 306
435.797.2853, Fax: 435.797.1822, Robert.Heal@usu.edu
Analysis, Statistics
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/rheal/webpage/

Justin Heavilin
Justin Heavilin, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Animal Science 208
435.797.2434, Fax: 435.797.1822, Justin.Heavilin@usu.edu
Mathematics

Joseph V. Koebbe
Joseph V. Koebbe, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Animal Science 209
435.797.2825, Fax: 435.797.1822, Joe.Koebbe@usu.edu
Applied mathematics, Computational fluid mechanics
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/koebbe/

Brynja Kohler
Brynja Kohler, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Animal Science 223
435.797.2826, Fax: 435.797.1822, Brynja.Kohler@usu.edu
Mathematics education, mathematical biology
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/kohler

Andreas Malmendier
Andreas Malmendier, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Animal Science 307
435.797.5518, Fax: 435.797.1822
Algebraic Geometry, String Theory, Gauge Theory

Nghiem Nguyen
Nghiem Nguyen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Animal Science 206
435.797.2819, Fax: 435.797.1822, Nghiem.Nguyen@usu.edu
Partial Differential Equations, Nonlinear Analysis
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/nnguyen

Zhaohu Nie
Zhaohu Nie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Animal Science 315
435.797.2812, Fax: 435.797.1822, Zhaohu.Nie@usu.edu
Invariant Functions, Characteristic Classes, Algebraic Geometry and Algebraic Topology.

James Powell
James Powell, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 214
435.797.1953, Fax: 435.797.1822, Jim.Powell@usu.edu
Nonlinear evolution equations, Applied mathematics, Mathematical biology
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/powell

Pata Rujirawat
Pata Rujirawat, M.S.
Lecturer
Animal Science 309
435.797.0746, Fax: 435.797.1822, Pata.Rujirawat@usu.edu

Kady Schneiter
Kady Schneiter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Animal Science 323
435.797.2820, Fax: 435.797.1822, Kady.Schneiter@usu.edu
Mathematics education, Statistics
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/schneit

John-Boy Stevens
John R. Stevens, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Animal Science 224
435.797.2818, Fax: 435.797.1822, John.R.Stevens@usu.edu
Bioinformatics, Applied Statistics, Meta-analysis
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/jrstevens

Yan Sun
Yan Sun, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Animal Science 310
435.797.2861, Fax: 435.797.1822, Yan.Sun@usu.edu
Time Series, High-dimensional Data Analysis, Random Sets
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/yan

Juergen Symanzik
Jürgen Symanzik, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Animal Science 313
435.797.0696, Fax: 435.797.1822, Juergen.Symanzik@usu.edu
Dynamic Statistical Graphics, Geographic Information Systems, Virtual Reality & Statistics, Web-based applications in Statistics
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/symanzik/

Zhi Qiang Wang
Zhi Qiang Wang, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 205
435.797.3529, Fax: 435.797.1822, Zhi-Qiang.Wang@usu.edu
Differential equations, Variational & topological methods
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/wang

Claire Watson
Claire Watson, M.S.
Lecturer
Animal Science 217
435.797.2844, Fax: 435.797.1822, Claire.Watson@usu.edu

Dariusz M. Wilczynski
Dariusz M. Wilczynski, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Animal Science 204
435.797.0747, Fax: 435.797.1822
Geometric and algebraic topology
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/dariusz

Stanley C. Williams
Stanley C. Williams, Ph.D.
Professor
Animal Science 210
435.797.2833, Fax: 435.797.1822, Stanley.Williams@usu.edu
Measure theory, Analysis

Postdoctoral Fellows


Stefan Mendez-Diez
Stefan Mendez-Diez, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Animal Science 304
435.797.7694, Fax: 435.797.1822, stefan.mendez-diez@usu.edu

Math Advising


Linda Skabelund
Linda Skabelund
Animal Science 117
Advisor for Developmental Math, Undergraduate Committee
435.797.0268 Linda.Skabelund@usu.edu

Curtis
Curtis Larson
Animal Science 117
Advising Assistant

Whitney
Whitney Jensen
Animal Science 117
Advising Assistant

Kaitlin
Kaitlin Murphy
Animal Science 117
Advising Assistant

Staff

Cindy Moulton
Cindy Moulton
Animal Science 101A
Graduate Program
435.797.2595 Cindy.Moulton@usu.edu

Meredith.Purintun
Meredith Purintun
Animal Science 101
Main Department Office
435.797.2809 Meredith.Purintun@usu.edu

Nancy Smart
Nancy Smart
Animal Science 108A
Budget
435.797.0244 Nancy.Smart@usu.edu

Christopher Spatig
Christopher Spatig
Animal Science 222B
IT systems administrator
435.797.4061 Chris.Spatig@aggiemail.usu.edu

Regional Campuses & Distance Education Faculty


Eric Rowley
Eric Rowley, PhD.
Clinical Associate Professor; Assistant Dept Head for Regional Campuses and Distance Education
USU Blanding Education Center
435.678.8507, Eric.Rowley@usu.edu

Kevin Bower
Kevin Bower, Associate Professor
CEU Price Campus
Kevin.Bower@usu.edu

Shane Brewer
Shane Brewer, Associate Professor
CEU Price Campus
435.678.8185 Shane.Brewer@usu.edu

Ted Campbell
Ted Campbell, M.S.
Mathematics Lecturer
USU Brigham City Campus
435.797.1784 Ext 234, Tedc@ext.usu.edu

Camille Fairbourn
Camille Fairbourn, M.S.
Statistics Lecturer
USU Brigham City Campus
435.797.1784, Camille.Fairbourn@usu.edu

Kami Dupree
Kami Dupree
Lecturer
Vernal Education Center
435.722.1751, Kami.Dupree@usu.edu

Peter Legner
Peter Legner, Instructor
Blanding Education Center Campus
435.613.5627, Peter.Legner@usu.edu

Melanie Nelson
Melanie Nelson, Associate Vice Chancellor and Associate Professor
CEU Price Campus
435.613.5358 Melanie.Nelson@usu.edu

Piotr Runge
Piotr Runge, PhD.
Mathematics Lecturer
USU Tooele Campus
435.882.6611, Piotr.Runge@usu.edu

Gregory Wheeler
Gregory Wheeler, M.S.
Assistant Professor
Senior Lecturer
USU Uintah Basin Campus
435.722.2294, gregw@ext.usu.edu

Henry Zwick
Henry Zwick, Associate Professor
CEU Price Campus
435.613.5277 Henry.Zwick@usu.edu

Emeritus Faculty


LeRoy B. Beasley
LeRoy B. Beasley, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Fax: 435.797.1822, LeRoy.B.Beasley@usu.edu
Matrix theory, Linear algebra, Combinatorics
Website: http://www.math.usu.edu/lbeasley/

Tony Bringhurst
Tony Bringhurst
Emeritus Associate Professor

Chris Coray
Chris Coray
Professor Emeritus

Ron Canfield
Ron Canfield
Professor Emeritus

Duane Loveland
Duane Loveland
Professor Emeritus

Jerry Ridenhour
Jerry Ridenhour
Professor Emeritus

Don Sisson
Don Sisson
Professor Emeritus